MENTAL HEALTH MATTERS

Part 1.



“You are worthless. You’re stupid. You don’t know how to do anything.” The words reverberated in her head as she eyed the knife ready to end her life.

The silence of death was already calling out to her and the crimson red that would flow from her veins would look so beautiful around the sheets and the sad part was that no one would find out until she was long gone.

She had no friends, a family who thought her useless, she had no one. No one would miss her because no loved her.

She was ready to end it all but the shrill sound from her phone stilled her hands. It had been a long time she last heard her ringing tone, she’d chosen it because the song had been her favourite but she never got to hear it often because no ever called.

Part 2.



How could someone so full of life ever consider taking it? She always had a smile on her face whenever she walked by, posting beautiful and happy pictures on social media, chatting away so cheerfully on WhatsApp. Who knew she had those dark thoughts?

I thank God I called when I did, finally ready to tell about the crush I had on her, instead she opened up to me like a flower to the sun. She told me her deep, dark and fearful thoughts. She’d been seeing the blood flow out her veins.

I was glad she felt she could confide in me, she trusted me well enough to share that burden with her, at least I was there when she needed someone. It reminded me of when I went through a similar thing, depression and it took my friends and family to support and bring me out of that dark path.

I decided within me that I’ll make her see the joys of living again. That deep down someone cared about her.

I never want to hear ”she’s gone” and be full of regrets. Now I know I did my part cause she met me when her world was gloomy and I hope I lit it up just like fireworks.


#saynotosuicide #mentalhealthmatters

Reachout to that person.

2 thoughts on “MENTAL HEALTH MATTERS”

  1. This is beautiful.
    That was a close call. Who knows what could have happened had you delayed calling her at that point.

    You’re doing good dear; this piece is inspiring.

    KESTER

    Like

Leave a comment